What are some penalties for multiple DUI offenses?
If you are charged with a DUI, it will most likely lead to serious consequences. DUI laws are variable from state to state, but some states have incorporated the ignition interlock device as a DUI penalty.
The ignition interlock device for a DUI
This device can be given to first time offenders. The device is attached to your vehicle and requires you to use it every time you decide to operate your vehicle. The device measures the alcohol content in your system and ultimately gives you access to drive or prohibits your vehicle from starting depending on your level.
States like Minnesota, for example, are now integrating an ignition interlock device program on top of the instated DUI penalty. While it started out as a temporary program, it may now become a permanent asset to Minnesota’s DUI laws.
If you had your driver’s license revoked, you may be able to bypass the program. In general, multiple DUI offenders will be required to enroll in the program to work towards their license anywhere from three to six years. The devices may also cost around $50 to install and then drivers are given a monthly payment on the device.
First time offender
This means that a first time offender, for instance, might be forced to pay $1200 a year to continue operating their vehicle. It seems that license revocation is increasing in correspondence with the lower tolerance of alcohol content measurement.
In any case, it is a good idea to speak with an experienced DUI attorney for legal advice. You might be able to avoid the interlock device if you can manage to fight for your rights. A DUI lawyer may be able to help you through the DUI consequences so that you can start over with a clean slate.
What are second DUI offenses? If you are charged with multiple DUI offenses, then your penatlies could be more severe including possible prison time. If you have completed the necessary consequences to clear your DUI the first time, what could you be facing for you second or third DUI?
The issue isn’t how many drinks you had, it’s how impaired you were by those drinks. It’s really impossible to guess how strong the case is against you without reviewing the evidence myself, but it sounds like you need an attorney. The penalties for a 2nd DUI depend on the county, but you can probably expect (if convicted) fines in the neighborhood of $2000, a license suspension, an 18-month alcohol class, 3-5 years of probation and possibly some custody time.
This answer pertains to individuals in the state of California.
John W Bussman
Location: Santa Ana, California
Phone: (714) 505-2468